Create study groups within your classes (undergrad students only)
The Study Buddies feature within the Navigate Student application is a tool to help you connect with other undergraduate students in your class sections who are also interested in creating study groups outside of class. Please see the screenshots and general information below to learn more about how Study Buddies functions within the mobile app.
- Safety Note: If meeting face-to-face, always remember to use best practices in safety when meeting up with study groups for the first time. This includes meeting in groups of 3 or more as well as meeting in public spaces.
When you click on the Study Buddies icon within the app, you will see a list of the class sections in which you are currently enrolled. Select the course section(s) for which you wish to join a study group.
- After selecting a course section, you will be promoted to confirm that you are opting to share your email address with other students in the class.
- If you select ‘Yes’, you will proceed further. If you select ‘Nevermind’, you will not be able to see or connect with others through the Study Buddies feature. If you did opt into sharing your information, but you are the first person in the class to do so, then ‘ONLY ME’ will display. Once more people join, you’ll be able to email them and connect about forming a student group.
Once others have opted in, they will appear in the available list. You will select the individuals you would like to email. A quick search is also available to search for particular classmates who have opted into Study Buddies for that course.
- Once you select the classmates with whom you would like to start a study group, your native email app will open. A pre-populated subject and body will appear. The auto-populated content of the email reads: “Hey! Would you be interested in studying together for [class]?” You can change the language of this email, if desired.
- You can leave the course’s Study Buddies group on the app at any time. Simply select ‘Leave Group’. A message prompt will appear asking you, “Are you sure?” If you answer ‘Yes’, your name will be removed from the Study Buddies list. If you answer ‘Nevermind’, you will be directed back to the Study Buddies list of students in that course.